The Delaware Museum of Natural History is pleased to report the election of three new Trustees to the Museum’s Board.

Estella Atekwana, Ph.D. is the Dean of the College of Earth, Ocean and the Environment at the University of Delaware. Before joining UD in 2017, she was Head of the Boone Pickens School of Geology at Oklahoma State University. A native of Cameroon, she earned a bachelor’s and master’s in Geology at Howard University, and a doctorate in Geophysics at Dalhousie University.

Deirdre Doherty, Ph.D. is a field researcher in wildlife ecology and conservation who has consulted on projects for National Geographic, PBS, and others. She earned a bachelor’s in Biology at Mount Holyoke College, a master’s in Environmental Studies at the University of Pennsylvania, and a doctorate in Conservation Ecology at the University of California Davis.

Eda Ross Montgomery, Ph.D. is Head of Business Excellence for Global Manufacturing Sciences at Takeda Pharmaceuticals. Prior to Takeda, she worked for other pharmas including Vertex and Bristol Myers Squib. Eda earned a bachelor’s in Chemistry at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and a doctorate in Analytical Chemistry at UNC Chapel Hill.

In addition, the Board elected two returning Trustees.

Nina Burnaford previously served as a DMNH Trustee from 2014-2019. She is a Senior Associate Director for Legal Affairs at the University of Pennsylvania Penn Center for Innovation. She’s a graduate of William Smith College, the London School of Economics, and the University of Pennsylvania Law School. Ben Ledyard also previously served as a DMNH Trustee from 2014 to 2019. A graduate of the University of Colorado Boulder and Widener University School of Law, he is a Managing Director and Private Client Advisor with Bank of America Private Bank.

The 2021 Executive Committee of the Museum’s Board includes:

  • President – Ron Logue, Administrative Vice President for Wealth Advisory at the Wilmington Trust Company
  • Vice President – George Trammell, Retired Chief Controlling Officer at SAP
  • Treasurer – John Kirby, Chief Financial Officer at Idera Pharmaceuticals
  • Secretary – John Larson, Managing Director and Head of Institutional Sales at Syntax, LLC

Founded in 1967 and open to the public since 1972,the Delaware Museum of Natural History is a private, not-for-profit 501(c)(3) corporation. Its mission is to investigate nature and science, preserve and interpret its collections, conduct scientific research, and inspire people of all ages to a lifetime of exploration and discovery. Through this mission, it strives to help develop a caring society that respects and values our planet. The museum is currently undergoing a major metamorphosis to its galleries and public spaces. Learn more at